The past few weeks have been hellish for me. Too many things going on, and no time to get done what needs to be done. I feel, quite often, that I have far too much on my plate, and the pressure is enormous. I want peace in my life…less chaos would be wonderful. And diversions of the “computerly” kind are great, but only a “band-aid” so to speak. Once I’m done, the stress hits me again, right between the eyes. But as much as I can keep going here, showing the little cracks in what some might think are my seemingly perfect life, this piece was never meant to be about me…

I have an online friend named “Amelia”. I “met” her on a message board where we share a few mutual interests, about 3 years ago or so. Amelia is one of those people that you instantly admire. She’s witty, smart, and her classiness shines through in everything she says. Her talent for writing is remarkable in it’s elegance and humour, and she is one of the people that I’ve often looked to for inspiration in my own writing (although I’m not sure if she knows that).

Why am I going on about this? Well, Amelia found out recently that her husband, “Jonathan”, has Alzheimer’s Disease. This has taken years to find out definitively, and I know that it has taken it’s toll on Amelia. Imagine trying to help someone that you love, but not knowing why they have the problem to begin with. For a short amount of time, it seemed that the diagnosis was something very fixable. Oh how I wish that it had been. But through it all, Amelia has had such grace and acceptance, despite the fact this has to be so heart wrenching for her. She truly is an amazing person, and I can honestly say that those of us who know her are blessed by her example that she has shown throughout this tremendous ordeal. Her example is definitely one to be emulated.

Back to what I was originally writing about…. what I’ve been going through as of late. It’s so easy to get caught up in our own little troubles, thinking that no one could possibly understand how difficult a time we are having. Until, of course, something like what Amelia is going through gives us a nice big…and well deserved….slap of reality. It’s easy to whine, until you see someone who is truly going through so much more, and yet greets each day with such grace and joy. It makes one think outside of themselves, that’s for sure.

Here’s to Amelia and Jonathan. It’s my hope that, while there is little I can do for them, that this silly little piece will somehow let them know that I am at least thinking of them. And that thought may bring them some comfort.

