Today, thus far anyway, has been quite a day. I really don’t see it getting worse, although I’m not going to hold my breath, for it always seems when I have finally convinced myself that things can’t get worse, they seem to find a way to do just that.

I suppose, in a way, my bad day didn’t start today at all. The whole week has like this. And come to think of it, most of my bad days tend toward that…a full week of nothing but stress, compounded by a spoonful of chaos and a dash of insanity. This, of course, is a recipe for disaster, and when mixed in the right proportions can doom entire months if you allow it. Luckily, I’m noticing it early on, so it’s only been my week this time around. I don’t even want to think about a month’s worth.

Monday, I had a doctor’s appointment. Mind you, I hate to go to the doctor as it is, and since we recently moved, I haven’t found one that I like yet (this could be an entire blog entry in of itself, so I won’t bore you with those details). So, Monday, I drive into town, go into the office, fill out the preliminary paperwork (good news here! The pile of papers they gave me wasn’t as thick as the New York City phone book!), and then go in to see the doctor soon after (another plus! I didn’t have to wait an eternity!). I did like the doctor, and things were going along swimmingly, until (BANG! There goes that other shoe…), we get to the part where I have to have lab testing done. To make a long story short, unless I have $300 to spend to get it done, it isn’t going to get done. SIGH! Always something…I wonder if the week started with a full moon?

The rest of the week has been a mishmash of differing levels of stress and madness…each of them adding their own individual touch to my already trying week. Today, however, seems to be the crème de la crème. First, I miraculously killed iTunes…all with the push of a button, which I didn’t even realize I had pushed (or even existed for that matter). Then, I get a phone call telling me that there has been a mistake on a credit card billing, and could I please locate the receipt to find out what happened? I have every receipt from the history of time from this store, except the one that I need. I’m thinking that perhaps it’s in another dimension…you know, that one that I’d like to escape to right about now. Compound this with everyday stress (oops, add an extra pinch of craziness), and you have a lovely little storm that I would love to fit into the confines of a teacup, but I just don’t have one quite that large. And just now, adding to the overall flavor of my soup de jour (or perhaps soup de semaine would be more appropriate), amid screams and yelling, I find out that someone dropped a battery down the heating duct. So much for things not getting any worse. Curse you Murphy.

