Sickness abounds here at Casa Izz. Woo hoo. Gotta love all the trials and tribulations that go with having a family…don’t get me wrong; I really do love them (well, sort of), I just wish they didn’t have to be so messy sometimes.

Two nights ago, poor Fin started with a fever. He was restless all night, and was apparently having strange dreams (judging from the fact that he kept yelling about one thing or another in his sleep). I wasn’t aware that this was caused by sickness until all of a sudden he screamed “ALRIGHT!!! We’re gonna go…one, two, three, four…..GOOOOOO!!!” and then ran into the bathroom. I had no idea what was going on, as I was quite abruptly awaken from a lovely dream (isn’t it always the way?), and was still quite groggy. I rushed into the bathroom to see what the problem was, and there was Fin, just going to the bathroom. He looked rather wild, but other than that seemed fine as he told me that he just had to go. Fine….after he is done, we both go back to bed. As I’m just starting to snuggle down again, all of a sudden I hear little feet running to my doorway, and then “MOM!!!!!! I’M GOING TO PUKE!!!!!!”. I sit up, tell Fin to run to the bathroom (no, he didn’t quite make it) as I jump out of bed to get to him. Poor little guy…but you can see what I mean now about trials and tribulations being rather messy. We clean the mess up, clean the child up (which in doing so, realize that he has a fever), and get him back to bed, tucking him in to make sure he’s warm (because fevers make you cold….oh, you know what I mean). I was going to get some Tylenol type stuff to help with the fever, but he seemed like he was going to go right back to sleep anyway….until he started to yell again. I run into the room (maybe sleeping in there would be a better thing?), ask him if he’s alright, to which he responds:
“I had a bad dream that Daddy was getting taller.”

Now, mind you, Mr Izz is hardly tall to begin with, so a bit more height might actually be a good thing. But apparently this detail was horrifying to poor Fin, who seems to prefer his father’s vertical challenges.

The rest of the night was pretty much the same. The fever did go down a bit, and he was able to sleep, although he was still restless. Poor little guy. But by the morning, he was fine. Back to his old self. Needless to say, I got very little sleep that night, but such is the job of a mom. I’m sure I’ll make up for it at some point (when all the kids are grown and gone, maybe).

Last night was Éamon’s turn…no throwing up, but he had a pretty good fever and had to sleep with me for the majority of the night. Anyone who has tried to sleep with an almost 18 month old will tell you, however, that the use of the word “sleep” here is ill used, for sleeping was not something I was doing. So, now I’m on to day number two with very little sleep, and I’m feeling rather giddy and silly (oh wait, I always feel that way, don’t I?), and very much like if I were to lie down, I may sleep through until tomorrow morning. I’m honestly just hoping that this will go through the ranks quickly. It’s much easier to deal with when you have them all go down with some new virus type thing at once, rather than having to deal with it sporadically. I’d rather have it over and done with. Trials and tribulations….they make us stronger. But honestly, I’d rather be stronger with a bit of sleep. Maybe tomorrow night….

