Amidst a flurry of activity, running around, getting the things in order that needed to be in order, and other things that have contributed considerably to my stress level in the past couple of weeks, we have closed on a house. I’ve been doing somewhat of a happy dance about it…it is going to be wonderful to not have to pay rent or a mortgage, and to be able to do whatever I want to the place. For example, I cannot wait to get into the garden and just start digging around…it’s my way of slipping back into my childhood of mudpies and sandcastles, and no one can tell me to stop because my digging will be useful, as it turns into tomatoes, lettuce, or green beans (although the latter might not be as appealing to the Izzlets). But my happy dance isn’t quite as happy as it could be yet…I still have to get this place packed up, which is something I’d much rather be able to wiggle my nose (you know, like on Bewitched) and then the house can magically pack itself up. Unfortunately, that’s not going to happen, so begrudgingly I’ll get it all done the mortal way (I may still try to wiggle my nose a couple of times…just to see).

It’s nice to have that one thing over and done with. It’s one less thing on my plate, and less stress in my life is always a positive. The house itself isn’t all that much to look at, but Mr Izz wants to build something himself, with his own hands… all of that “Y Chromosome” type stuff. I swear there is something genetic about men and their need to do things like this. Women are so much simpler. But because of his testosterone driven urges, I should have a nice, newly built house to move into soon enough. No, I wasn’t being sarcastic with that remark….well, not too sarcastic.

The next couple of weeks should be interesting. At least the kids won’t say they’re bored! Loads of packing to do (and why did we unpack so much to begin with, when we knew we were leaving in 6 months anyway?), and then unpacking (which always seems to be easier than the former), and then getting used to a new place (again….SIGH!). But at least it’s my place. That’s pretty cool.

