Today is day one of the second semester of Nursing School for Mr Izz. While this is a good thing in a lot of ways, it’s of course going to be a bit difficult getting used to him being away so much again. Although, I’m sure that will only take a day or two to get used to 😉 After this semester is over, he only has 2 more to go through until he is finished with the course. Yay for that! It’ll sure be nice to have a steadier source of income!

My only hope is that he doesn’t stress nearly as much as he did last semester. But, knowing Mr Izz the way that I do, I’m fairly certain that my hope will be in vain. Stress is one of the things Mr Izz does best, I’m afraid. At least this time we won’t be moving during Finals Week, though! That’s definitely a good thing. But he really is good at finding other things to occupy his “need for stress”, so rest assured that despite the removal of one source, he’s bound to find another to replace it. Fun fun fun!

Next week begins school for the kids, so I have my own bit of stress to deal with. I’m not a great homeschooler…it’s never been something I loved doing. But onward I plod, attempting to make this year far more organised and structured than any other year has been. That shouldn’t be too easy, because as anyone who knows me knows, organisation is not one of my strong points, and I think that the word structure should be absolutely abolished from the English language entirely. Alas, since that is not about to happen any time soon, it’s a more structured and organised existence I am seeking…at least in terms of my homeschool! Last night, Mr Izz and I sat down to make up actual charts which will show what each child is to be doing each hour of the day…obviously his idea, not mine. Logically speaking, for someone like me this type of organisation is key. I’m sure that in some wonderful way, it will make my life so much easier, and homeschooling much more enjoyable for everyone involved if it’s all mapped out in this way. That doesn’t mean I have to like doing it, however, and I had to fight to keep all of my sarcastic remarks to myself as he helped me try to get the charts done. I’m pretty sure that a couple escaped despite my efforts, however…I got a look on more than one occasion. 😉

So that’s what’s going on this week. And why I’ve been rather absent here, and slacking in the new posts department. Pretending to have even some organisational skills is very tiring! But along with that, I’ve also been looking at books that I need and trying to find the best place to buy them for the cheapest price. Not an easy task. But it will be over soon enough, and then comes the fun part of actually using the books and teaching what is contained inside them. The one part I am looking forward to is English Literature…the older 2 are doing that in terms of English this year, and I can’t wait to get started. So, at least there is one thing to look forward to, right? Maybe I’ll force them to read all the works of Jane Austen. HA!

Off to get the kids moving, and try to figure out the rest of what I need to do in terms of school, and also get the house cleaned up and organised, see what I’m going to have for dinner (I need to make up a menu and go shopping, but the car has a problem and Mr Izz has the van…in other words, there is a wrench that is being forced into my attempts at getting things done). All of this before Mr Izz walks back in the door this afternoon. I can do it, I can do it, I can do it…….

you know, that did work for the Little Engine that Could. Unfortunately, I don’t see it working quite that well for me. SIGH!

