I’m totally incoherent, exhausted, and cranky. Poor Éamon didn’t sleep for more than 15 minutes at a stretch last night, so things here are a bit crazy. The kids are fighting in the kitchen and being totally horrible…..I think I need that vacation to Tahiti right about now. The only thing I have to look forward to is that magical sound that is emitted from the coffee pot when it’s finally done…you know, the one where it’s trying to get the last bit of water to run through, but there is no more, so it’s just steam? Problem is that my coffee pot is broken, so it’s going to take at least 6 million years to be done. I may keel over by that time.

What this stems from is poor Éamon and his cold/cough thing. Without getting totally into detail, the trip to the ER over the weekend confirmed that he does have a touch of pneumonia, which is why he’s having a hard time breathing during his coughing fits. This is a doozy of a cough too. Christopher has had it for 2 weeks now, and it doesn’t seem to want to quit. I was more concerned with the 2 that have asthma, so it didn’t occur to me that Éamon was getting worse (I know, bad mommy), until I woke up to him gasping to get a breath. He’s slept with me ever since, and this was on Saturday. The poor little guy. The funny thing is that while he’s sick, you wouldn’t know it. He still runs around like a crazy boy all day long (this in a good way) and he’s still as good natured as ever. This on no sleep at all for 4 nights. Me, on the other hand, would breathe fire if I could…the kids are making sure I have a wide berth as I walk by, and if I call them,you can see them jump like I’m about to shove them into the laundry basket because they blinked too loudly or something….hey, you know, that might be a good idea.

So this is why I am waiting. I’m waiting for the water to finally get heated up and finish dripping out of the basket which holds the magic beans (freshly ground of course), and finally settle into the pot at the bottom, somehow turned into that magical beverage that will wake me up. Yes, I am addicted to caffeine. Get over it. I have. But my coffee pot seems to have a mind of it’s own, and likes to torture me with it’s endless brew cycle, and confuse me with it’s way too early “Coffee’s Done!” beep (it beeps after it’s been brewing for like 2 minutes)…sometimes the gurgles that are emitted really do sound like maniacal laughter, for I’m certain that my coffee pot knows the desperate state I am in, and it’s laughing evilly at me because it also knows that my desperation means that it’s in charge. I’m almost certain this is the case….I’m actually totally certain, but I’m thinking that might make me look a wee bit daft, so I’ll keep it at almost. I really think I need a French Press…

Oh! Wait! I think the coffee is done! Give me a second…..ahhhh….freshly brewed coffee. Maybe now I can keep my fire-breathing behaviour to myself, and actually behave a bit more like a human. Maybe the kids won’t jump into action and get stuff done in record time since my mood will be much more improved….wait…ixnay on that one. There’s a lot to be done today. I think I can keep up the dragon imitation just long enough to get the living room vacuumed. But for now, I am going to savour each and every drop of this cup of coffee. The kids will be pleased to know that, I’m sure.

