Yep…still running on fumes here. Éamon is better, but still waking up quite a bit at night. I don’t mind that he’s in bed with me for the most part, but it does make for little sleep. Last night, however, was worse than the others.

Éamon had been asleep on the couch because he had woken up in his crib coughing and gasping as usual (although not nearly as bad). Terrence took him out, and put him next to me on the couch, just so we could keep an eye on him. He feel right back to sleep…the poor guy was so tired. By the time we hit 9:30pm, I just couldn’t keep my eyes open anymore, so the older 3 kids said they’d take care of him and I went to bed. By 9:30…must be a new record for me.

Anyway (trying to pry the thoughts out of my cotton-filled head this morning…please bear with me), by around 11, the kids were getting ready to go to bed, and put Éamon back into his crib, when he woke up again, coughing. Christopher picked him up, and Éamon proceeded to puke all over him. You know, when you have tons of ick in your lungs and you gag and sometimes throw up when you cough too much? That’s what happened. They both were cleaned up, and Éamon was promptly brought in to sleep with me. Not a problem…despite his liking to sleep sideways, his being there isn’t really a big deal. But when you combine him with Séamus, then you have a problem.

About an hour after Éamon was put into my bed, Séamus started to cough and hack, and invariably cry in his bed. Joseph, who is also not feeling well….good grief, will we ever get better??…was trying diligently to help him, but Séamus was not to be consoled. Needless to say, he also came into my bed to sleep. It was about this time that Mr Izz decided that he was not going to sleep in the bed, and went off to sleep on the couch. Since he was gone, I put a child on each side of me, and prayed that we’d all get right to sleep and sleep for a few hours at least.

Séamus slept fine; Éamon coughed quite a bit…but that wasn’t the problem. You see, both boys tend to sleep “all over the place” which meant that I needed to become a contortionist very quickly in order to find a comfortable position to sleep in. But this talent isn’t easy to acquire, as I discovered while trying to arrange myself in between Séamus’ feet in my stomach, and Éamon’s head in my back…then Éamon’s feet in my face, and Séamus practically laying on top of me. Ay yi yi…..what a night. Of course, Mr Izz missed it. But I had my revenge because he was cold all night. HA!

Now you can see why this is a continuation. I’m really hoping that we’ll hit the finale soon…I’m not sure how much more sleeplessness I can endure. I’m getting a bit giddy and silly today (far better than my fire-breathing act of yesterday)…next thing you know I’ll be hearing voices and hallucinating. It’s a good thing that Mr Izz’s clinical rotation is the Psychiatric ward…he’ll be all set to deal with me.

Enough for now. I do have things to do rather than sit on the computer typing all day, despite the fact it’s really all I think I have the desire to do. Well, I could make another pot of coffee…and wait for about a million years to have it be done. But at least I’ll have the promise of another dose of caffeine sometime in the nearish future.

