I have a weakness for chocolate and peanut butter. Growing up, I always loved Reese’s peanut butter cups (I still do, actually). The first time I ever saw chocolate peanut butter ice cream at the ice cream shop, I was ecstatic. Heck, I’ve even been known to put chocolate milk on my Peanut Butter Crunch cereal. The two flavours just go together perfectly. Like they were meant to be together. Maybe they were, who knows. But my love affair with these two things isn’t always a good thing.

Yesterday, I went grocery shopping. This, of course, is a good thing. It’s good to have food with which to prepare meals for the Izz clan…it keeps them happy. The problem came when I decided I needed to go down the baking aisle. I’m usually pretty good…I can quickly get past all the brownie and cake mixes without buying any. Well….without buying many. But I needed to get chips for cookies. My intent was to purchase chocolate chips, for they are always well received. Plus, their usage is pretty straightforward, so you don’t have to get all creative to use them, unless you want to. It was a good plan; a solid plan. But as I reached down to grab them, I hesitated. My eyes quickly scanned the differing bags of chips until they fell upon a bright orange bag of Reese’s Peanut Butter chips. I knew then we weren’t having chocolate chips this week. And before I could change my mind, I threw them into my cart and covered them up with a bag of carrots. Out of sight, out of mind…and still in my cart.

Fast forward to today. Katherine (the eldest Izzlet) comes up to me this morning and asks me if I want her to make cookies. I tell her “If you want…”. She just looks at me and rolls her eyes, knowing full well I’m dying for her to make them.

“I suppose you want the CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER CHIP ones, right?”

I didn’t even have to answer, for off she went to get the butter out so she could make them for me this afternoon…what a nice girl she is! Quick note here…on the back of the Reese’s bag is the BEST recipe for chocolate peanut butter chip cookies in the history of the world. They are awesomely delicious with their gooey chocolate and nutty peanut butter chips that are half melted if you get one right out of the oven. Just look at them!!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip cookies

Don’t they just make you want to reach out and grab one? I could eat a whole batch, which of course makes them dangerous as well as delicious. But I could care less…they’re worth the risk just to have one…or two….or ten. This time, I think I’ll try to have some willpower, though. It should be easy because I can’t smell all that much with this blasted virus I have. If I can’t smell them, I won’t want them as much, nor will they taste as good, because you know you need your sense of smell in order to taste…that’s like some scientific law or something. Willpower is as good as mine. Bring on the cookies!

::off to see if the cookies are done::

You know….(munch, munch), will power is highly overrated. Whomever came up with the concept was out of his mind. Of course this really has nothing to do with the cookies…how many have I had? Ummmm…..let me see……maybe 4. BUT, that’s not the reasoning for my change of heart on will power. Willpower is a highly illogical concept…at least when there are chocolate peanut butter chip cookies in the house. SIGH! Remind me never to buy peanut butter chips again.

