It’s time again for another “Izzy’s Top 5”! 🙂 This time, I thought I would give the 5 best songs to dance to while working in the kitchen. Many of you might be wondering, why in the kitchen? Why not just the 5 best dance songs in general. Well, for one, I’m not fond of doing a “general” of anything. Typically that kind of topic is done and overdone, and I don’t need to add to that overdonedness. Secondly, I practically live in my kitchen. Seriously, I do. When you have to cook 3 meals a day for an army (well…maybe not an ARMY, but almost), you might as well put a cot into the kitchen and be prepared to stay there for a long while. I’ve worn a path on my floor with all the walking around the table I have to do on a daily basis. And I have permanent foot prints in front of the stove. I’ll take a picture at some point to prove it. But for now, you’re going to have to be content in just taking my word for that. Suffice to say, I spend a great deal of time in my kitchen. And since I spend a great deal of time in my kitchen, I also spend a great deal of time listening to music in there….which only means I do an awful lot of dancing around in there, aswell. Dinner just doesn’t quite taste right if I haven’t done some dancing around whilst stirring.
This brings me to my Top 5 topic du jour: Izzy’s Top 5 songs to dance to while working in the kitchen. If you don’t work in a kitchen, don’t despair! You can dance to these anywhere. I’m pretty sure it’ll work….I haven’t tried it out, since I rarely leave my kitchen, but you can try. And then let me know how it works out for you. We can make a study of it! But on to my Top 5:

Song #5:
Bob Marley – Three Little Birds
Ok, who can’t help but dance around to this one? It’s not fast, but it’s just perfect for stirring spaghetti sauce to. And with a couple glasses of wine to go with it, I’m not worrying about a thing… 😉

Song #4:
ABBA – Take a Chance on Me
No top 5 songs to dance to while working in the kitchen would be complete with out a little ABBA…and here is the first installment of that. ABBA songs have the BEST beat, and when their music is playing, you have to dance. It’s almost like a law or something. But it’s best to not be doing something like cooking when this is on….I usually dance around to this one while mopping. I never knew how great of a partner that darn mop could really be. Who knew all those weirdos in the movies had it right all along.

Song #3:
The Dubliners – Rocky Road to Dublin
This one is TOO fun to dance to, even just in general (yeah, I did say it, but we’ll just pretend I didn’t). But for some reason it’s way more fun in the kitchen. Sometimes I get the elder female Izzlets to dance with me, and I try to jig around like they do…it doesn’t typically work, though., so I end up content just dancing like a fool.

Song #2:
ABBA – Dancing Queen
Not including this one is practically a criminal offense. The name says it all. It’s much more fun when you can get wee ones into it with you. But beware!..when you do get others into the fun, the dancing never limits itself to just the kitchen. So if you’re wanting to keep it in one place, it’s best to do this one alone.

And last but not least!!!!!
Song #1:
The Bothy Band – Various stuff
I was going to put their Jig and Five Reels up, but I couldn’t find it on YouTube. I think I do the most dancing to this (including much of what’s on the YouTube clip, so all is not lost!!). There is just something about jigs and reels….my feet just start moving, and the next thing you know, I’m dancing on the table. Oh wait….that’s something else entirely. Forget that last bit. But I do dance all over creation when the Bothy Band is jigging out on my iPod.

This list is hardly complete, but it’s still worthy of an Izzy’s Top 5. These songs and tunes have brought me much joy, and I’m convinced they make my meals much more palatable. A bit of advice…if you are self-conscious about dancing around with an audience (ie: your kids, your husband, your neighbours peeking into the windows), then you might want to do this when no one is around for the first few times. Then you can also sing at the top of your voice, too, without making an utter fool of yourself. Happy dancing! 🙂

